Tags

,

I’ve always known it as Israeli couscous. But at Central Market, it’s labelled Middle Eastern couscous. Politics and food… oy.

Font change. huh.

I digress. Today we went to the farmer’s market and got some goods. Specifically beets, carrots & asparagus, which I forgot to add to my roasting tray. boo.

Determined to have lunch for the next few days without going to the store in frustration (I’ll touch on that eventually), I made lunch.

Chop red pepper, grape tomatoes, onions, beets and carrots, toss them with salt, pepper and olive oil, then roast. About 350 degrees for about a half hour. Probably should have roasted the beets whole, but that brings back weird memories that I’d rather not mention while writing about food.

A prepared cook would have thrown in asparagus. And some of that purple kale that’s living in the crisper.

Lay it all out on a tray and roast.

In the meantime… Take your Israeli/Middle Eastern couscous and cook it in chicken stock. Remember, it’s only 1 part couscous to 1.5 parts liquid or so. I doubled the liquid since it’s been so long since I’ve made this stuff.

Let it cool, and for the love of Pete, don’t eat it all. That’s the challenge here.

Mix it all up, and store it for safe eating. I haven’t determined if I’ll heat it up or not. Probably will. Just because.