It’s fall. That means decorative gourds. And squash. We’ve been cooking a lot of squash lately and tonight’s soup reminded me I have a thing some call a “food blog.”

This puréed soup is so easy, it just takes a bit of time. I will say that the sage in my garden doesn’t look that great, otherwise I’d have fried some sage in butter for extra flavor. 

– 1 medium sized butternut squash, peeled, seeds removed and cubed 

– 1 large onion, chopped in large chunks

– 6 cloves garlic

– Chicken stock (let’s be honest, I think I used a cup plus 8 chicken stock ice cubes 

– Water, to thin, as needed

– Salt & pepper to taste

– Shaved Parmesan cheese 

– Extra virgin olive oil 

Place squash, onion and garlic on a baking sheet, toss with salt, pepper and olive oil. Bake at 375 degrees F until squash is fork tender (about 35-40 mins).

Now, throw it all in a blender and purée it with chicken sock and water. How much liquid, you ask? That’s a good question that depends on a few things, but mist importantly, how thick do you like your soup?

Put purée into a skillet or soup pot, depending on how much soup you’ve got to work with. Heat gently (and add more stock/water if needed. 

We had some leftover rotisserie chicken, so we put chicken in a bowl before adding soup. Garnish with shaved Parmesan cheese. And fried sage leaves, if you’ve got them. 
  

