Hard work and perseverance really do pay off.

Tonight, I tried on a dress.

I bought this dress five years ago. We went to a wedding in Miami, and I had planned on wearing this dress. At home in Seattle, it fit like a glove. Once we got to Florida- with the heat, humidity, indulging in some local bbq and dropping the ‘gluten free’ regimen, I had swelled just a smidge and busted the zipper a few minutes before we were supposed to leave for the ceremony. Thankfully I brought a backup. (That one broke too, but that’s a different story).

As soon as we returned home I had the dress mended, but have not been able to fit into it since. I always said that when the seamstress replaced the zipper, she took it in, and that’s why it never fit again.

That was 5 years ago.

On a whim tonight, I tried it on… and with a little help, it zipped.

For everyone who has ever questioned how or why I can be so strict about my diet when I’m doing something like ‘grain free’ or Advocare, or whatever else- that dress, and this moment is why I set rules, and never break them.

This space on the web is reserved for my love of food, which has gotten me into trouble in the past, and let’s be honest, probably will again in the future. This progress is truly overwhelming for me- this has been a long journey, and it’s not over yet. The closure of one zipper can mean so many things, and bring so many emotions.

We have another wedding to attend this fall. Now I know what I’m going to wear.

