Tags

,

Since I saw District 9, I can’t help but think of creepy aliens they called Prawns.  Yet I digress.

Two years ago tonight, my husband and I were in Puerto Vallarta celebrating a milestone birthday for me.  We were still boyfriend-girlfriend, living together on the same car insurance, and I wasn’t sure if he was going to pop the question.  Before we went away, a few friends tried to drop hints (ahem, that’s rude), and a few comments from him made me confident I didn’t have to think about a proposal on that trip. Ha ha funny.

I promise this has something to do with food.  After the “oh my god what are you doing” incident after he got down on one knee, we decided we should get dinner.  It was late and restaurants were going to close soon (mid-week, old town, off-peak season).  We ended up at the Burro Bar on the beach, and ate mojo de ajo prawns and drank Pacificos as we watched the sun go down.  That was a pretty awesome meal, and to commemorate it, I tried to recreate it (somewhat) tonight.

mojo de ajo

Normally I would have done black beans and some type of rice, but we got a late start to dinner, and had some leftover pasta in the fridge.

Here’s what we had:

  • 12 wild gulf prawns (one was funky so we ended up with just eleven)
  • One lime
  • 5 big cloves of garlic, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter
  • 1 tablespoon of coconut oil
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Heat coconut oil in a skillet, then melt butter.  Over a medium-low heat, add the garlic and simmer.  Add the juice of one lime and simmer some more.  Just make sure you don’t burn the garlic.  Season with salt and pepper.

Once the garlic is nice and soft, throw in the prawns until cooked.  We threw them (and that butter-coconut oil-garlic sauce) atop angel hair pasta with seared zucchini (salt, pepper and grapeseed oil).

We’ll see if I have nightmares tonight… that was a lot of garlic.  I’m hoping since it was so fresh (my parents grew it and the zucchini… love homegrown food), that I might be able to sleep through the night.

