Tags

, , ,

Wow.  Right now, with grocery store recipes we’re 2 for 2.  The first was the coconut milk ice cream from Whole Foods… but that’s another story.

While browsing Central Market recently, I saw a recipe in the array that stood out.  I’m not so proficient with Asian cuisine, so this could be an opportunity to build on that repertoire.  Hubs took over and made this, and it was divine.  Since there was just two of us, and half a pound of halibut, we had to make some adjustments.

Here’s the actual recipe:

Cod with Sesame Miso Glaze (via Central Market’s “Market Recipes”)

Serves 6

  • 6 6-ounce cod fillets (black, ling or true) *any white fish will do, I think
  • 1/3 cup white miso *we had red, so that’s what he used
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup toasted sesame oil
  • 3 tablespoons mirin
  • White and black sesame seeds, lightly toasted *haa
  • 3 green onions, sliced diagonally *not in my kitchen.. I can’t stand these things

Arrange cod fillets in a single layer in a shallow pan.

In a small bowl, combine miso, sugar, oil and mirin; mix well.

Brush both sides of fillets with half of glaze mixture and let marinate for at least 1/2 hour; up to 1 hour.

Heat broiler on high.  Place fillets on broiler pan; broil until browned and glaze has caramelized. *we just did it all in a skillet and it turned out just fine.

Remove fish from oven and pour over remaining glaze.  Turn oven to 375 degrees, and bake 5-7 minutes until fish is moist and flaky. *if you use halibut or other thick fish, bake 10-12 minutes.  Garnish with sesame seeds, but NOT green onions.

This is where we stray from the recipe.. in a good way.  Instead of serving with steamed white rice and cucumber pickles (um… ), we had steamed broccoli and asparagus.  Mmmm.

This is definitely worth trying out again- I may even try cod (meh).  It almost reminds me of the Pietro’s BBQ sauce that I use with salmon, and I think this could possibly work with salmon.  I love salmon.  Okay, I’m hungry, time to make dinner.

 

