Tags

, , ,

You know a recipe has to be good when you have *three* handwritten copies of it…

As a kid, I would always bug my mom to make Sesame Chicken.  It’s not what you’d think to be in “sesame chicken” – its paprika, red wine, soy sauce and ginger.  Oh man.. I wish I had some more!  Now as an adult, I understand why it wasn’t a weekly meal.

Unfortunately, I have no idea where this recipe came from, so I can’t properly cite a source.  Regardless, you must make this.  There’s a reason I still crave it as an adult, just as I did as a child.  But this time around, I make sure that I make and eat my vegetables.  Green beans went fabulously with it, and rice is a must.

Here is the recipe: I just eyeballed everything, had one chicken breast cut into two, and a whole lot of wine… like half a bottle.  What can I say, this sauce is magical.

Sesame Chicken

  • 1/2 cup flour (we used Bob’s Red Mill chickpea flour)
  • 1 tablespoon paprika
  • 2-3 pounds of chicken, cut in pieces
  • 2 tablespoons light brown sugar
  • 2 tablespoons soy sauce
  • 3 tablespoons oil
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1 cup red wine
  • 1/3 cup sesame seeds
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  In a baking dish or plate, mix flour, paprika, salt and pepper.

Mix up the spice mountain, and dredge the chicken in it.  Heat oil in a skillet, brown chicken on both sides, and place into an oven safe baking dish.  In that same skillet, combine brown sugar, soy sauce, ground ginger and red wine.

Stir the sauce to mix, then pour over the chicken.

Ooh action shot.  Swear hubs was laughing at me trying to pour on the sauce and take a picture at the same time.  I need more hands.  Anyhoo…

Sprinkle the chicken with sesame seeds, and bake for 30 minutes.  Turn over chicken, and bake for another 30 minutes.

In the meantime… make some rice!  All we had in the house was arborio (my favorite).

Take about a half (or quarter) of an onion, and dice it real fine.  *In the same pan you made the sauce in*: reheat pan, add olive oil and sweat these little guys.  Throw in your rice and let it toast a bit before adding stock.  Use the general 2-parts liquid to 1-part rice business; let the liquid reach a boil, then reduce heat to low and cover for about 20 minutes.. or however long it takes to make rice the way you like it.

Why do I love arborio rice so much?  If you don’t add enough liquid at the start, you can add more at the end and stir it, just like you would with risotto.

After you’ve got the rice cooking, onto the green beans.  These don’t take long: simply clean them up, take the tops off, and do a quick flash in the pan with a little olive oil, salt and pepper.

You really can wait to do this until the chicken is done.  And speaking of the chicken… this is what it’ll look like out of the oven.

Plate, admire, drool, and eat!  I really need to make this more often.  It takes a lot of time, but it’s completely worth it.

