Tags

, , , , ,

I always get excited when I see this message in my inbox: The Pioneer Woman Cooks!  On Monday, Feb 27th, this gem came through, and was quickly forwarded to me by my kitchen buddy: http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2012/02/chicken-with-mustard-cream-sauce/?utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+pwcooks+%28The+Pioneer+Woman+Cooks%21%29

I must say, I have been using a lot more cream these days.  Maybe once a month… that’s a lot more than “normal.”  And I honestly think that next time I make this, it just needs more wine, and I’ll skip the cream.

SO EASY.

Get your chicken breasts cut in half.  Then season with salt & pepper.   Then brown on both sides.  Then take the chicken out.  Then throw in garlic (I was out… !!! so we used onion).  Then add mustards (the Dijon was a little harsh for me.. sad).  Then add the booze.  Then add the cream.  Then add the stock.   Then put the chicken back in.

I must say I made a cubic assload of sauce.  You know what happened to that extra sauce?  It’s living in my freezer right now, but will come out on Friday night when the hubs and I have steak dinner date night.  Mmmmm.

How ’bout them brussels sprouts?  Take sprouts (halved), chopped sweet onion & bacon.  I would recommend pre-cooking the bacon.  Lay it all out on a baking sheet, season with salt & pepper, drizzle with olive oil and bake.  I did about 25 mins at 400 degrees with a broil at the end.  Next time I’d go a solid 30 minutes at 425 and skip the broil (I really wanted some nice color on the sprouts.. and for the bacon to COOK!).

Try making this. You won’t be sorry.

