Tags

, , ,

This post is brought to you by Martha Stewart. sorta.

I have a couple of magazine subscriptions, and to make them “worth it” I decided we need to make a recipe out of each issue.  Lately I’ve been slacking (I’m sorry Bon Appetit, but I can’t make that delicious looking pizza on the cover when I’m on my “Lent diet”)… anyhoo.

In Martha’s January 2010 issue, there was a whole spread about Paillards.  The first time around I missed it completely.  And when I found it, it was like the angels sang.  Okay not really, but still.  Check it out: http://www.marthastewart.com/356032/chicken-paillards-lemon-butter-sauce

This is SO EASY.  And you can change it up every time.  Like last night I didn’t use lemons or chicken stock, just shallots and white wine.  And served it up with roasted asparagus.

Here’s what you need:

  • Chicken breast (my butcher sells “breast halves.. these are beasts)
  • Shallot, thinly sliced
  • Fresh flat leaf parsley, chopped
  • White wine
  • Red pepper flakes (optional)
  • Fresh ground salt & pepper
  • Extra virgin olive oil
  • Butter (we used unsalted- that’s whats in the fridge)

Preheat your oven to 400 degrees.

Start by cutting the breasts in half.  Or if you’re feeling stressed, pound the crap out of them.  My stress levels have been pretty good lately, so I just cut them in half. ish.  Season with salt and pepper, and set aside.  Slice your shallot nice and paper thin, and chop a handful of fresh flat leaf parsley.

Rinse your asparagus, and lay out on a baking sheet.  Season with salt and red pepper flakes.

I love asparagus.

Next: in a large skillet, heat olive oil and butter (to your taste.. I use a lot because I love it) over medium-high heat.  Once the butter is melted and everything is nice and hot (don’t forget to turn on the fan!!), add the chicken to the pan.

It’s that easy.  Once the bottom side is browned, flip the chicken and toss the asparagus in the oven.

Add your shallots and wine to the pan.  Oooh action shot:

Let it reduce and get happy.  I like to make sure that the shallots don’t get stuck on top of the chicken.  Mix it all up and let it cook.  You can reduce the heat if the wine evaporates too quickly.  Also, you can add chicken stock here.  I was too lazy to get my frozen stock cubes from the freezer so I threw in more wine.

When your chicken is about done (not sure exactly how long this took.. not very long though!), toss in some parsley and pepper flakes if you like the spice.

Don’t forget about the asparagus!  I like mine a little “al dente” (?). They cooked perfectly in the time it took the chicken to get drunk.

Did I mention how much I love asparagus???

This was SO EASY. And delicious. And gluten-free (though a little bread would have been divine to sop up the leftover pan juices.. I ate them all with a spoon!)

