Tags

, , ,

Seafood and asparagus with white wine & onions make my world go ’round.

Man.

Since I’ve been going to yoga almost every night, scheduling dinner is becoming more and more important.  No plan = up a creek & frustration.

Whenever my grocer has a deal on frozen seafood like gulf prawns (and scallops too), I jump.  And since asparagus is in season and available at $0.99 a pound, again, I jump.  Put them all together and… JUMP!

Anyhoo.. this dinner is so easy- the most time consuming thing was defrosting the shrimp.  Not kidding.

Here’s what you need:

  • Gulf prawns (we had about 11)
  • Whole white onion (I’d have used a sweet one if I had any)
  • Garlic (lots)
  • White wine
  • Butter
  • Olive oil
  • Fresh ground salt & pepper
  • Fresh chopped flat leaf parsley
  • Asparagus

First: chop your garlic and slice onions (thin-ish).  Warm up a nice skillet on medium heat with butter and olive oil.  Throw in the onions first, then the garlic.  (optional: hover to smell and fog up your glasses).  Season with salt and pepper.

Now add some wine.  I went with a Columbia Crest Pinot Grigio.  A solid cooking wine (and a steal of a deal when on sale) that I would have drank along with dinner if I hadn’t given up boozing on school nights for Lent…  I didn’t measure, so I used “this much”:

So easy!

Since I was dragging my heels to eat (wasn’t quite hungry yet), I turned down the heat on the onion-garlic mixture and threw in some chicken stock ice cubes (much more practical than you could ever imagine. Just sayin’).

Now at this point, I decided to blanch (???) my asparagus.. lightly boiled then drained & run over with ice cold water.  Blanching, right?  I have no idea.

If you’re going to do your green goods this way, for timing: make sure your water is boiling by the time you add your prawns to the onion mixture.

Flip the prawns once they start to go pink on the bottom.  After a few minutes (before overcooking them… ha), add some parsley and red pepper flakes.  Come to think of it, I wish I had added the pepper flakes much earlier so the spice really gets into the dish.

When you’re ready, bust out a big soup bowl (my fave for anything), line the bottom with asparagus, and top with onion mixture and prawns.  Garnish with a little extra parsley and stuff your face.  In a civilized manner, of course.

Next time I make this, I’ll be drinking wine while cooking with it!

