Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Oh Lent.  I generally give up some sort of food or vice for Lent- this year I’ve given up all wheat and corn products.  That means no chips, regular pasta, or even things with dextrose… generally no processed foods.  This usually isn’t much of a big deal, but I’ve really gotten back into pasta lately.

Yet I digress.  The bun-less burger.  I generally find this concept so boring.. why have it if you can’t do it right?  Well, I this at http://sodelushious.com/ (title: more meat), and got inspired.

Take everything you want on a burger, and wrap it iceberg lettuce.

Make patties:

I had a package of .95 pounds of ground… sirloin? Honestly, since I didn’t get from the counter, I’m not 100% sure exactly what kind of beef this is.  Lean organic something.  Regardless, with this much meat, I made 3 burgers.

Take your ground beef, crumble it up in a bowl, add fresh chopped parsley, one egg, salt & pepper and Worcestershire.  I ended up having to use balsamic because my low sodium wheat & corn free Lea & Perrins was all gone.  I refuse to cheat!  Chopped onions would have been good here too.

While the grill is warming up, caramelize some onions, and save some oven roasted tomatoes (if you can…).  Before the patties are done cooking (hubbs grilled ours on the bbq), add some blue cheese (or which ever you prefer… next time I want to try stuffing the patties with cheese.  Mmmmm).

Once everything is ready, stack it up and EAT.

I put some stone ground mustard, katsup (wish I knew how to spell this the non-weird way), caramelized onions, roasted tomatoes and a little more cheese.  Make sure to have lots of napkins- this is m-e-s-s-y.