Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I’m pretty sure I’ve mentioned this before, but I’ll say it again.  I love Rick Bayles.  Somehow we stumbled upon his Mexico: One Plate at a Time show on PBS last year and since then I’ve been hooked.

I think the thing I most love about these recipes is they are so simple yet so flavorful.  Plus, I can watch an episode and either take notes or just remember the basics and make something delicious.

First there was the fire roasted tomato salsa: http://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/view?recipeID=195

And the fancy guacamole (I still haven’t put oranges in yet): http://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/view?recipeID=65

Then the mojo de ajo: http://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/view?recipeID=244

And the garlicky pasta with shrimp & chipoltle peppers: http://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/view?recipeID=248

After seeing some beautiful poblanos at the grocery store, I decided it was time to try making chiles rellenos.  We’d seen an episode on rellenos a while back (see here: http://www.rickbayless.com/recipe/view?recipeID=206), and remembering you can put just about anything in a relleno.

First things first: roast your peppers.  I do mine on the stove top.  Probably make husband nervous every time I do this, but it cooks so much better like this than under the broiler.  Plus its winter (with snow on the ground), or I’d bust out the bbq.

If you’re working on a gas stove like me, open a window and turn on the fan.  Also, make sure that you’re just blistering the skin, not torching the pepper.  The reason for this step is to soften the pepper and remove the skin. (But don’t quote me on that, I’m not a professional).

Once your peppers are nice and blistered, remove from heat, and cover so the pepper can steam a bit and the skin can get loose.  Once cooled, remove the nasty burnt skin, open on one side and remove the seeds.

Now, pick your fillings.  We had a bunch of stuff so I threw it all in.

Here, you can see the cleaned & prepared peppers, dungeness crab meat, slow roasted pork, diced onions, eggs and fire-roasted tomato salsa (recipe linked above).  Also I threw in chopped cilantro and pepper jack cheese.

Next up: mix it all together!  I seasoned the eggs with salt & pepper, then beat them. A lot.  Then mix in the crab, pork, onions, cilantro and cheese.

Next time, I’ll probably add tomatoes to the mix (if I don’t roast and eat them all first..) and grill the onions.

Now stuff those peppers!  I put them in our individual casserole dishes 1) because they’re cute, and 2) we had way too much stuffing for just two peppers.

Just for fun, I crumbled some tortilla chips over the stuffed peppers, then covered them with more cheese.

Now for baking time.. I can’t quite remember exactly how long- maybe about 20 minutes at 350 degrees.  Basically, cook it until the cheese is golden brown melty and the eggs have set.

Now garnish with salsa, sour cream (if you must) and a side of black beans*.

Black beans are super easy: throw a can into a pot, season with chili powder, brown sugar, grilled onion (optional), lime, cilantro and anything else you like.  Simmer as long as you like. Then eat.

