Tags

, , , ,

When I was thumbing thru all of my (old) Martha Stewart & Sunset magazines for food ideas, I stumbled across this Tomato Cobbler from Martha’s July 2011 issue.  How I had missed this in the first place is beyond me.  I guess it was before I became 100% obsessed with roasted grape tomatoes.. ?  We’ll never know.

Regardless, I made this on Friday for a monthly dinner party.  It was delicious.  Now that I look at it again, I’d be happy with this as a birthday “cake”.  Not kidding.

Recipe here: http://www.marthastewart.com/353816/tomato-cobbler

Since I was cooking for a small crowd, I followed the recipe, except added a lot more cheese.  I mean c’mon… who doesn’t like Gruyère cheese.  And Gruyère biscuits?  With caramelized onions?  YUM!

About half way thru the baking process, I covered the dish with a foil tent so the cheese wouldn’t burn… not sure if that’s what caused the liquid from the dish to start boiling over in the oven (oops).  Oh well, it still turned out delicious.  And great leftovers for breakfast!

I will definitely be making this again.  Maybe throwing in shallots with the caramelized onions. And maybe some fresh herbs when my garden is alive again.

