Tags

, , ,

I can’t remember which magazine I was browsing recently (either Martha or Sunset) and I saw a beautiful bowl of pasta.  Simply prepared, I said to husband “man I love pasta.”  He said “eh”. 

The other night, I decided it was time to make my own version of this dish that had been occupying my mind.  I had intended on using quinoa spaghetti, but since they didn’t have it at the store I was at (it *had* to be spaghetti!!), I went with regular pasta.

This is one of the more simple things I’ve done, using what I had in the fridge/freezer. 

While boiling the pasta, in a small pan, toast some walnuts (medium heat, abut 5 minutes).  In a large skillet, heat some olive oil (and butter for good measure), toss in a few dollops of pesto and frozen peas.  Stir often so it doesn’t stick or burn.  When the pasta is done, throw in some pasta water and turn the heat up.  This will reduce the “sauce” and make it stick to the pasta.

Throw in the spaghetti, and toss so every piece is covered with pesto.  Top with toasted walnuts and crumbled parmesan.  Next time, I’m going to throw in some prosciutto.

