Tags

, , , , , , ,

Mmmmmm  I did good.

The Inspiration:

I saw this pic about a week ago (???) surfing on Twitter and decided I was going to make it at home.  And soon: http://twitter.com/#!/chrissyteigen/media/slideshow?url=http%3A%2F%2Fyfrog.com%2Fhsqthohj  –  “another chance to take a “before” photo. Prosciutto wrapped stuffed chicken breast. Bacon and boursin cheese inside”

Swimsuit model = badass cook.  Go figure, right? http://twitter.com/#!/chrissyteigen and here: http://sodelushious.com

Not gonna lie.. I saw Boursin in the caption and started to drool.  I’m in love with Boursin cheese.  Seriously, it’s a problem.  I can sit down with one of those luscious rounds of cheese and eat the whole thing.  No crackers necessary.  And Costco sells a 3-pack for about $7 or so.

So last night’s dinner.  I really did myself proud.  Saw a picture (link above) with description, and decided I’m gonna make that.  And I did.

Here’s what you need:

  • Chicken thighs (SKIN ON!!! Mine had bones too)
  • Caramelized shallots (make ‘em, its easy)
  • Boursin cheese (we had garlic & herb; shallot & chive is the *best*)
  • Organic baby spinach
  • Grape tomatoes
  • Paper thin prosciutto (two slices per chicken thigh)
  • Optional: I put slivered almonds in ours… probably wouldn’t do that again

Preheat oven to about 400 degrees.

Take your chicken thighs, skin side down, in a square Pyrex.  Lay down the fresh spinach, add a spoon of boursin cheese, and top with caramelized shallots.  Easy, right?

Now get crafty… take two pieces of prosciutto per thigh. Fold the chicken thigh over to “close” and use a piece of prosciutto to tape up the bottom.  Now flip over your chicken, and put another piece of prosciutto over the top. 

Now, take your grape tomatoes, cut them in half (lengthwise) and toss them in the Pyrex.  Drizzle with olive oil, season with salt & pepper, and put it in the oven.

Bake for at least 45 minutes- the chicken skin underneath the prosciutto will crisp up and the prosciutto shell will get crispy too.  The tomatoes will soak up any and all flavor from the prosciutto wrapped chicken (holy crap).  Oh yeah, the house will smell pretty good too.

Now for the sprouts.  I LOVE brussels sprouts.  I grew up in a house where we didn’t eat them, so I don’t associate them with foot or fart smell like a good friend does. 

Here’s what you need:

  • Brussels sprouts, rinsed and quartered
  • Prosciutto (I think we used about 3 slices)
  • Few cloves of smashed garlic
  • Paprika

This is quick and easy- you can make these once you pull the chicken out of the oven.

Heat olive oil in a pan on high-ish heat.  Throw in your prosciutto and garlic.  Stir quickly- don’t want the garlic to burn up into bitter crusties.  Throw in the sprouts (this really is more like a stir fry now that I think about it).  Season with salt & pepper, then throw in some paprika (or whatever spice you like).  Toss to coat.  After a few minutes, the prosciutto will crisp, the sprouts will have a good sear and you’re ready to go.

Now, if you have no shame (like me), plate dinner then scrape any flavor crusties out of the baking pan.  Trust me, it’s good.

I probably could have used a little less cooking time (see burnt tomatoes), but I’m paranoid about undercooked chicken.  And the beauty of dark meat is it’s hard to dry out (and it’s cheap).

Now pat yourself on the back- you’ve probably joined the clean plate club on this meal.  I think I’m going to start calling this my version of “engagement chicken.”

