Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Good golly, I forgot about the gravy!

This year, I insisted on having turkey stock to make my gravy.  Mmmmm gravy.  So I went to my local butcher, Double DD Meats in Mountlake Terrace, and picked up a bunch of turkey necks.

 

These are not particularly pretty by any measure.  Throw them in the oven at 350 degrees until they get golden.  You want to roast the meat and particularly the bones to get better flavor out of them.  When I pulled mine out of the oven, they looked like this:

 
From here, throw them in the Crockpot, cover with water and forget about them for a day or so.  When the stock is ready (the water level reduces significantly and your house smells like turkey), strain it.
 
When you’re ready to make gravy….
 
Generally, people use flour and cornstarch to thicken gravy.  But when your guests are allergic to both, you improvise.  Arrowroot is a good substitute for cornstarch: the bottle says use 1/3 the amount of arrowroot.  As for a flour substitute, pick what you like best.  We have a gluten-free all-purpose flour mix, chickpea flour (what we used); sweet rice flour is good too but I’m all out.
 
Though this is gluten-free, I still started like I would normally with a bit of a roux, then gradually added stock.  This stuff was GOOD.
 
Your whisk will be your friend while making this.
 
What’s next?  The sides!
 
My sister brought these delicious brussels sprouts that were tossed with salt, pepper, olive oil and chili powder.  And chopped prosciutto.  Pork product in a vegetable? We *must* be related!
 
In lieu of stuffing, my mom brought a wild rice dressing with pistachios and celery root.
Mom also brought asparagus, and I wish there had been more.  From what I can see/remember, lots of parmesan, garlic and of course, BACON.
 

My test kitchen bud brought some amazing cranberries, but I’m a turd and didn’t get a photo.  We almost forgot about them hibernating in the fridge!  So sad 😦

Also on the appetizer table: deviled eggs.  Man these were good.

Another photo fail: green beans.  We threw these in a pan with bacon and garlic and finished off with fresh squeezed lemon juice.

All in all, our table was most certainly enviable, and not a bread product in sight.

I mean c’mon.. look at this plate!!

And for dessert, we had my lumpy pumpkin cheesecake and a gluten-free berry cobbler.  The perfect ending to a delicious meal.

