Tags

, , , , , , ,

Don’t mind me, I’m just backtracking a few days.  I *wish* I could remember when we had this dinner- either Monday or Tuesday.  Husband stepped up and saved my ass once again.

This is one of the easiest meals you can make, so long as you have the good stuff.

Let me take a moment to talk about one of my happy places: http://doubleddmeats.com/.  Whenever you’re in the Seattle/Mountlake Terrace area, GO!!  Not only is their product amazingly delicious and fresh (check out the lunch meat and cheeses), it’s worth a visit just for the novelty.  Aisles and aisles of hot sauce, rubs, bbq sauce… good stuff.

So back to sausage.  They make a ton of different flavored sausage every Wednesday.  Peach chipoltle is one of my FAVES, but that’s for another story.  For this dinner, we had artichoke, garlic & parmesan sausage. 

Anyhoo…. here’s what you need for a simple, delicious and hearty meal:

  • Sausage (I prefer artichoke)
  • Onions
  • Garlic
  • Potatoes (make sure they’re red- yellow/Yukons are delicious, but fall apart when baked like this)
  • Yams
  • Kale
  • Carrots
  • Whatever else that tastes good roasted with olive oil & pork fat

Chop it up and throw it in a Pyrex.

Drizzle with olive oil, season with salt & pepper, and bake.  I don’t remember exactly what temp (or how long) we… I mean he cooked for; either 350 or 400 degrees, until everything looks and smells good.

Check periodically and stir sparingly.

When you get to drooling at the smell, then it’s probably ready.  If you’re into that thing, crusty bread would be good to sop up the olive oil/pork fat goodness, but eh.

Simplicity. Delicious. And guess what? Grain free!

