Tags

, , , , ,

Words really cannot describe how much I love taco salad… but only if you have the right stuff.

At the beginning of each week, I sit down with the husband to see what we want to have for dinner each night.  Admittedly a bit anal, but I need that sort of structure or I freak out and we end up having Top Ramen (a completely respectable dinner when you add frozen vegetables).

This week, husband says “I have a lot of time” to help out.  C’mon poker face, don’t fail me now!!  Since I’ve taken up hot yoga 2-3 times a week, that limits my cherished time at Central Market.  I’m one of those people that loves to stroll the grocery store. alone.  I have my habits- must first start at the seafood counter, then get produce.  If *godforbid* I don’t make it to my butcher, then the meat counter; on to bulk, dairy.. and so on.  When husband comes along, he messes me up and I stress out.  Don’t eff with my routine, I say!  Silly I know, but I have my habits and have a hard time breaking them.  Hanyways….

I think tacos are proposed every week, and at least every other week I shoot it down.  “It’s a LOT of work” I say… but I know it’s worth it.

This week, husband picked up a pork shoulder.  Generally it goes into the Crockpot with garlic, onion, bay leaf, herbs & spices and cover with water.  I noticed we had a can of green salsa in the cupboard, we mixed it up and slow cooked the pork in green salsa and a little water.  This was a very wise decision.

Along with some choice slow roasted meat, taco salads need a few key things:

  • Black beans (this time with a chopped chipoltle chili and a few spoons of adobo sauce)
  • Grilled or fried onions
  • Red cabbage
  • Tomato salsa
  • Avocado
  • Sour cream (but only if seasoned with lime and cilantro)
  • Cheese

This is my leftover lunch salad today (I’m sad there are no fried onions left), but delicious none the less.

 

Fancy schmancy work lunch

